Luang Sit Fellowships

The Luang Sit Sayamkarn Scholarship Fund

Luang Sit Sayamkarn was the name of a knighthood bestowed on Thian Hock Hoontrakul, Governor of (then) Rotary District 330, Thailand, in 1959-60.

He served in many ministerial positions in various governments and helped found the Rotary Club of Bangkok South in 1961. He passed away at the age of 62 in 1963.

In 1964, during the Presidency of the Late PP Wudhi Mekdhanasarn, our Club’s members voted to set up a permanent scholarship fund in Luang Sit’s name to assist needy children obtain tertiary education.

Thus, the Luang Sit Sayamkarn Scholarship Fund was established in Luang Sit’s memory, and the Luang Sit Scholarship Fund Committee was set up under the Chairmanship of PP Wudhi.

Thanks to donations by members, family and friends, the Luang Sit Sayamkarn Scholarship Fund has accumulated over the years and now exceeds 2.25 million Baht.

Members make donations on their birthdays, anniversaries or other special occasions. The Fund is held on term deposit under the custodianship of The Rotary Club of Bangkok South and the interest generated provides a limited number of scholarships for needy children.

In 1985, the Luang Sit Fellowship Programme was established. Under this initiative, members of Rotary Bangkok South, wives, relatives and friends can become a Luang Sit Fellow by donating Baht 8,000 per year for at least four consecutive years.

The money is deposited in a separate Luang Sit Fellowship bank account, until it is paid out to the scholarship students. Luang Sit Fellows receive a commemorative pin in recognition of their support.

Every year an amount corresponding to the number of students sponsored is then forwarded to the Foundation for the Welfare of Needy School children under the Royal Patronage of Her Majesty the Queen, which in turn administers the scholarships on behalf of each Fellow and the Fund.

The number of students sponsored each year equals the total number of Luang Sit Fellowships plus the number of scholarships that can be funded by interest earned on the Luang Sit Sayamkarn Scholarship Fund.

Each year 90-100 Luang Sit Fellows support up to 120 students. Many of the fellows are wives or friends of RCBS members.

Like to learn more about our Luang Sit Fellowship Programme either to sponsor, or to enroll for a fellowship? Please click HERE and we will be in touch with you.

The following 84 members and non-members contributed one or more Luang Sit Fellowships in the 2019-20 year for 112 students. Those contributing more than one are noted.

Adrian Topham
Alan Henderson
PP Andrew MacPherson
PP Banvech Chantrasmi
Carol Kuhn
Chantimaporn Mekdhanasarn
Chris Trogh
David Lawrence
IPP Dean Outerson
PP Douglas Riach
PP Don Lavoie
Elmar Lins
Erin Elizabeth Riach
PN Finbarr O’Connor
PP Graham Brain (2)
Heinz Knoke
Jaana Kopra
Jean Marie Cattand
Jeremy King
Jiraporn Meyer
John Casella
John Chirgwin
Jon Plate
Joseph Scuderi
Katherine Redcord (David Record)
Klaus Feilkas
PP Krin Chammaytesakul
PP Krit Wongsaengarunsri
Kurt Wachtveitl
Lalit Kumar
Leo Alexandersen
Lucus Suradejvibul
M. Chase Schneier
Manu Mekdhanasarn (2)
Marc Honnickx
PP Mark Butters
Mark Wolf
PP Michael Doyle
Michael Graham-Hyde
PP Michael Schulz
Mototoshi Kakiuchi
PP Narain Suradejvibul
PP Narinder Sachdev
PP Nart Liucharoen
PP Nick Pisalyaput
PP Nigel Hardy
PP Niti Meyer
Nond Liuchareon
Noat Liuchareon
PP Ole Madsen (3)
Ola Holmgren
Pat Bunsongsikul
PP Per Dibber (2)
Peter Dalberg
Phanee Chantrasmi
PP Philip Baechtold
Pichai Kanivichaporn
Pimpisa Mekdhanasarn
PKF Thialand via John Casella (3)
Poul Weber
Prasert Mangkornkarn (6)
Prasob Snongjati (2)
Prasobsook Thawilvejjakul (2)
Ragil Ratnam
Rick Smith
Rod Vergara
Rui Belo
Sanguansri Suthipongchai
Sasiporn Liuchareon
Scott Ledwell
PP Sean Brady
Sophia Suradejvibul
Supachai Suthipongchai
Stefan Sanchez
Thomas Whitcraft
P Tim Cornwall
Van Delden Holding Co., Ltd. via Joop Van Delden (2)
Van Tang
PP Vichai Tantrativud
Volker Betsch
Worrakit Pholsawad
Yannick Thevanot
Yongyuth Thirachaimongkol
In Memory of PP Wudhi Mekdhanasarn
In Memory of PP Dirk Naumann (1942-2016) from the Zuellig Group and the Zuellig Family. (6)
LSF Interest Fund (7)